Battle and Hastings, England


After just over a month apart, I’m finally going to get to see Brian again. I’m headed to England for a few weeks before I start a new job back in the hospitality industry in South Dakota. I’m so looking forward to seeing him and to getting to spend some time with his parents. Their lovely home in Bexhill-on-Sea is only a few blocks from the beach, and I can see some walks in my near future.  Brian takes me by Beachy Head, one of my favorite places from my last visit.


Brian played tour guide for me along the south coast a couple of years ago. And he has already put together a list of things and places for us to enjoy while I’m in England. We don’t waste any time, walking along the seashore to Hastings on the day I arrive.


  
  
  
We stop and enjoy a Ploughman’s and a cider at a sunny pub patio table, buy some fresh Haddock for dinner and see an original Banksy. Not bad for having just landed this morning.

The following day we head off to Battle to see the reenactment of the Battle of Hastings (October 14, 1066) take place on the sacred grounds of the original battle. This event is held once each year, and I’m so glad I’m lucky enough to be here to see it.

  
  
  
  

  
Nearly 500 participants on foot and horseback entertain the thousands of people who have come to watch. It’s incredible!

Categories: TravelTags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

