Meeting girlfriends in Italy 


My best friends mother has planned a fun trip for them both to southeastern Europe and kindly invites me to come along. It’s a stretch since I’m not yet back to work after my two years on the road, but I wouldn’t miss the chance to travel with Sharon and Heather. Sharon is a consummate traveler and bargain hunter and has found a wonderful end-of-season tour at a great price. And Heather, her daughter, has been my best friend for nearly 20 years. So on the first of November we plan to meet up in Venice.  A friend of Sharon’s accepts her invitation too, and now we are a foursome.

On Halloween, as I lay in my hotel room with a cold, mother and daughter arrive. I’m so happy to see them. We wander over to a grocery store for some supplies for an in-room picnic, our first of many for the trip. And thanks either to Sharon’s good-traveler supplies or her and Heathers good company, I start to feel a little better.

The next day we meet up with our fourth at a hotel by the airport and we all head into the old city Of Venice for some sightseeing before our departure to Croatia and Slovenia tomorrow.

   Heather has remembered a chapel we visited for a concert of Vivaldi many years ago and tells her mother about a beautiful statue she saw that night. Somehow the artist created the very realistic illusion of a woman wearing a veil in his marble statue. And against all odds, I eventually lead us back to this church to see her again. She is even lovelier than I remembered.
  

Ah, Venice, you are so beautiful.

Categories: TravelTags: , , , ,

5 comments

  1. Hello I have been in venice and checked that statue as well.
    Now I’m going again and I don’t remember the name of the church!

    Can you help me remember it? I’d like to go there again!

    • Il Museo Della Musica is a former church and museum all in one. I think that’s where it was…hope you enjoy your trip!

      • Hello,

        The statue wasn’t in the museum. It was in a small chapel, that had a nice collection of statues, maybe 4 or 5.

        Can you remember?

      • Hello,

        The statue wasn’t in the museum. It was in a small chapel, that had a nice collection of statues, maybe 4 or 5.

        Can you remember?

      • I went to a strings concert of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons and thought it was a chapel when I first went, and this museum is a former church, so I think this is it, but the veiled statues are more common in Venice because a Venetian started the technique. I’m sorry to say I don’t know for sure. But if it isn’t this museum, the church I went to was very nearby. I hope you find it.

Leave a Reply

